Team Maths

The Team Maths competition has been a long running activity of the Irish Maths Teachers’ Association with regional rounds beginning in 1991 and National finals in 2005

Team Maths is a table quiz for teams of 4 students from Leaving Certificate years with questions based on the Leaving Certificate higher level course. Ordinarily, regional rounds are held nationwide by local branches under common rules and questions with teams qualifying for the National final.

A total of 135 teams from around the country competed in the Team Maths 2022 regional round, which was held online for the first time. Congratulations to the 540 students who participated. Well done to Scoil Pol from Kilfinane, Co. Limerick who finished as ultimate winners, based on the tiebreak over Athlone Community College. Engraved trophies will be awarded to the top 25 teams, and 12 teams will compete in the National final in March.

Team Maths 2022 National Finalists

Scoil Pol, Kilfinane, Co. Limerick; Athlone Community College, Athlone, Co. Westmeath; Gonzaga College SJ, Ranelagh, Co. Dublin; Terenure College, Co. Dublin; Abbey Vocational School, Donegal; Sandford Park School, Ranelagh, Co. Dublin; Christian Brothers College Cork;
St. Benildus College, Stillorgan, Co. Dublin; St. Gerards School, Bray, Co.Wicklow; Presentation Brothers College, Cork; Mercy Secondary School Mounthawk, Tralee, Co. Kerry; The King’s Hospital School, Palmerstown, Co. Dublin.

National Final Winners 2005 – 2019

Winning School Year
Glenstal Abbey, Murroe2019
Christian Brothers College, Cork2018
Christian Brothers College. Cork2017
Christian Brothers College, Cork2016
Gonzaga College SJ, Ranelagh2015
The High School, Rathgar2014
The High School, Rathgar2013
Coláiste Chríost Rí, Cork2012
Christian Brothers College, Cork2011
Christian Brothers College, Cork2010
Midleton CBS, Midleton2009
St. Joseph’s CBS, Nenagh2008
Castleknock College, Castleknock2007
Gonzaga College SJ, Ranelagh2006
St Columba's College, Stranorlar2005